Armbruster Engineering in "Discover Germany:

Assistance systems in manufacturing environments – a guidepost for industry 4.0

In order to avoid defects during an increasing number of variants in manual production processes and to secure globally consistent quality, electronic assistance systems are increasingly required for production today. The Bremen-based company Armbruster Engineering offers an industry 4.0–solution which is well-reputed on the market: its ELAM-platform.

Armbruster Engineering Discover Germany

The ultimate goal of each manufacturing company is to constantly produce quality products – even under difficult circumstances. For this reason, more and more interactive, electronic assistance systems with corresponding assistive devices, such as a scanner or a pick to light display, are deployed at workplaces. Through this, production processes become notedly more reliable and efficient and the obligation to provide information about product results can be guaranteed.

The interactive assistance system from Armbruster Engineering with its range of functions, as well as its tailor-made operating instructions, complies with the most difficult but, at the same time, the most important part of a secured process execution – the gradually monitored assembly. Employees get directed through various visualisations with text, pictures and drawings on their screens and in their languages.

The ELAM-system is suitable for all industrial manufactories in which employees manually assemble components into products. It is especially profitable when fluctuant quantities and several versions get manufactured. “The ELAM-platform works everywhere where processes can’t at all or can only partly be automated,“ explains Henning Vogler, the technical manager. The ELAM-system gives employees the right information in the right place and at the right time – throughout the factory and at all required locations. Thereby, the ELAM-system is easily adjusted to a clients‘ needs.

The company foundation and the ELAM-system (Executive Level for Assembly Manufacturing processes) resulted from the need of many clients to control manual assembling processes. “A crucial success factor for us was and still is the strong focus on innovations,” stresses Norbert Armbruster, founder of Armbruster Engineering.

At the beginning of developing ELAM, linking tools, process documentation and traceability were focussed. Today, comprehensive assistance functions and document presentations for paperless production are available in the ELAM-platform.

In order to further design and shape the ELAM-system in the future, Armbruster Engineering constantly works on innovating all components to always be one step ahead of the market. For this, Armbruster Engineering falls back on its long-term experience which it gained through many nationally and internationally successful projects throughout different sectors.

The ELAM-system is able to control a company’s entire production process from order picking in the warehouse, over the assembly at the workplace, to quality control and complete traceability through the saved production data. This helps employees to also orientate themselves during difficult processes and creates an ideal production environment for accurate and error-free operations. The system can be used in companies of every size as it is very adaptable. Airbus, Daimler, Voith and Volkswagen rank among Armbruster Engineering’s most known clients but also much smaller businesses chose Armbruster Engineering’s IT Systems.

“A total changeover to a digitalised and paper-free assembly department is a huge investment for many companies. That’s why we often start off with pilot projects and begin with individual work steps,” says Henning Vogler. Thereby, ELAM can be set up at different levels - from compact assembly solutions with simple assistance systems up to industrial manufacturing systems for the factory-wide equipment of workstations. Armbruster Engineering acts as general contractor during these projects. From Bremen the company provides its own software and hardware from selected manufacturers, adjusts this with the processes on-site and integrates it into existing IT infrastructures if wished. Additional workshops and training courses help employees to deal with the software and prepare them for independent adaptions after the system got put into operation.

“Today, more and more manufacturers demand the entire documentation of the production process from their suppliers,” tells Vogler. “At the same time, error rates and the need for training efforts decrease with the ELAM-system and efficiency increases. We have already been on the market with ELAM for 15 years and have established ourselves in everyday production processes.” One of the biggest challenges for every producing company in digitalisation, according to Vogler, is the handling of rapidly growing data volume. However, due to its connectivity to production planning systems and to software, such as SAP, the ELAM-system is optimally prepared for the challenges of industry 4.0.

Armbruster Engineering Industrielles Manufaktursystem

Armbruster Engineering in "Discover Germany:

Assistenzsysteme in der Produktion – Wegweiser für die Industrie 4.0

Um bei steigenden Variantenzahlen in manuellen Produktionen Fehler zu vermeiden und global gleichbleibende Qualität sicherzustellen, werden heute elektronische Assistenzsysteme für die Produktion zunehmend benötigt. Das Bremer Unternehmen Armbruster Engineering bietet mit seiner ELAM-Plattform eine am Markt anerkannte Industrie-4.0-Lösung.

Armbruster Engineering Discover Germany

Das Ziel eines jeden produzierenden Unternehmens ist es, auch unter schwierigen Umständen die Herstellung von Qualitätsprodukten stets sicher zu erreichen. Zu diesem Zweck werden vermehrt interaktive elektronische Assistenzsysteme mit entsprechenden Hilfsgeräten wie Scanner und Pick to Light-Anzeigen an Arbeitsplätzen eingesetzt. Produktionsprozesse werden dadurch deutlich zuverlässiger sowie effizienter und die Pflicht zur Dokumentation der Produktergebnisse kann gewährleistet werden.

Das interaktive Assistenzsystem von Armbruster Engineering erfüllt in seinem Funktionsumfang und seinen zugeschnittenen Arbeitsanweisungen den schwierigsten, aber wichtigsten Teil einer gesicherten Prozessausführung – eine schrittweise kontrollierte Montage. Der Mitarbeiter wird durch unterschiedliche Visualisierungen mit Text, Bild und Zeichnungen, auf seinem Bildschirm in seiner Landessprache geleitet.

Das ELAM-System eignet sich für alle industriellen Manufakturen, in denen Mitarbeiter manuell Bauteile und –gruppen zu Produkten zusammensetzen und lohnt sich besonders, wenn schwankende Stückzahlen und viele Varianten gefertigt werden. „Die ELAM-Plattform arbeitet überall dort, wo Prozesse nicht oder nur teilweise automatisiert werden können“, erklärt der technische Geschäftsleiter Henning Vogler. Das ELAM-System gibt den Mitarbeitern die richtige Information zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort – fabrikweit und an allen benötigten Stellen. Das ELAM-System wird dabei an die Bedürfnisse des Kunden angepasst.

Die Unternehmensgründung und das ELAM-System - Elektronische Linien-Anbindung von Montageanlagen – entwickelten sich aus dem Bedarf vieler Kunden an kontrollierten manuellen Montagen. „Ein zentraler Erfolgsfaktor war und ist für uns der starke Fokus auf Innovationen“ betont Norbert Armbruster, Firmengründer von Armbruster Engineering.

Zu Beginn der ELAM-Entwicklung standen die Werkzeuganbindung, die Prozessdokumentation und die Rückverfolgbarkeit im Vordergrund. Heute stehen darüber hinaus umfangreiche Assistenzfunktionen und Dokumentendarstellungen für eine papierlose Fertigung in der ELAM-Plattform zur Verfügung.

Um das ELAM-System auch in Zukunft weiter zu gestalten, wird permanent an der Innovation aller einzusetzenden Komponenten gearbeitet, um dem Markt immer einen Schritt voraus zu sein. Dabei greift Armbruster Engineering auf langjährige Erfahrungen aus vielen nationalen, sowie internationalen erfolgreichen Projekten in unterschiedlichen Branchen zurück.

Das ELAM-System kann den kompletten Produktionsprozess in Unternehmen steuern. Von der Kommissionierung im Lager, über die Montage am Werkplatz und die Qualitätsprüfung, bis hin zur lückenlosen Rückverfolgbarkeit durch die gespeicherten Produktionsdaten. Es hilft den Mitarbeitern, sich auch in schwierigen Prozessen zurechtzufinden und schafft eine optimale Produktionsumgebung für fehlerfreies Arbeiten. Dabei eignet sich das System für Unternehmen jeder Größe, denn es ist sehr anpassbar. Airbus, Daimler, Voith und Volkswagen zählen zu den bekanntesten Kunden, aber auch viele kleinere Unternehmen setzen auf die IT-Systeme von Armbruster Engineering.

„Für viele Unternehmen ist eine komplette Umstellung auf eine digitalisierte und papierlose Montage eine große Investition. Deshalb fangen wir häufig mit Pilotprojekten an, beginnen bei einzelnen Arbeitsschritten“, so Henning Vogler. ELAM kann dabei in unterschiedlichen Stufen eingerichtet werden, von kompakten Montagelösungen mit einfachen Assistenzsystemen bis hin zu industriellen Manufaktursystemen für die fabrikweite Ausrüstung von Arbeitsplätzen. Armbruster Engineering tritt bei diesen Projekten als Generalunternehmer auf. Das Bremer Unternehmen liefert die eigene Software und die Hardware von ausgesuchten Herstellern, stimmt sie mit den Prozessen vor Ort ab und bindet das System auf Wunsch in die vorhandene IT-Infrastruktur ein. Zusätzliche Workshops und Schulungen helfen dem Personal im Umgang mit der Software und bereiten es auf eigenständige Anpassungen nach der Inbetriebnahme vor.

„Viele Hersteller verlangen von ihren Zulieferern heute zunehmend die komplette Dokumentation der Produktion“, erzählt Vogler. „Mit dem ELAM-System sinken gleichzeitig Fehlerquoten, die Effizienz steigt und auch der Aufwand für Schulungen nimmt ab. Wir sind mit ELAM bereits seit 15 Jahren auf dem Markt und haben uns im Produktionsalltag etabliert“. Als eine der größten Herausforderungen für jedes produzierende Unternehmen in der Digitalisierung sieht er den Umgang mit dem rapide steigenden Datenvolumen. Durch seine Anbindung an Produktionsplanungssysteme und an Software wie SAP ist das ELAM-System, so Vogler, aber bestens auf die Herausforderungen von Industrie 4.0 vorbereitet.

Armbruster Engineering Industrielles Manufaktursystem